REC's CEO and President, Farmer Elected to ODEC Board

August 1, 2019

Kent Farmer, president and CEO of Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, was elected to serve as chairman of the Old Dominion Electric Cooperative’s (ODEC) Board of Directors. ODEC is REC’s primary power provider. New officers were elected at ODEC’s annual membership meeting held in Williamsburg, Va. on July 30, 2019.

Joining Farmer are John C. Lee, president and CEO of Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative, as vice-chairman; and, Jeffery S. Edwards president and CEO of Southside Electric Cooperative as secretary/treasurer. Each of the officers' terms will expire in 2022.

“I appreciate the confidence of my fellow board members,” said Farmer. “Innovation and opportunity are at an all-time high in the electricity industry, and I look forward to working with ODEC to maximize the benefits they may bring to cooperative members.”

ODEC is a member-owned generation-and-transmission cooperative that provides wholesale power to REC and 10 other member electric distribution cooperatives in Virginia, Maryland, and Delaware. Farmer’s leadership on the board is one of many ways REC is directly engaged in ensuring that members receive a reliable supply of electricity that is both reasonably priced and responsibly generated.

“Our newly elected officers reflect the outstanding leadership that is present on our board of directors. I’m confident their guidance will ensure that ODEC remains a standard bearer of the cooperative business model,” said Marcus Harris, ODEC’s president and CEO.