Alphin Receives Leadership Award

July 30, 2015

Statewide Association Recognizes Co-op Director’s Legacy

Fredericksburg - William M. (Bill) Alphin has been honored by the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives (VMDAEC) with the 2015 Electric Cooperative Leadership Award.

Alphin, who became the first board chairman of REC when it was formed in 1980 and has served the region’s electric cooperative for nearly 40 years, accepted his award at the VMDAEC annual membership meeting on July 27 in Roanoke, Va.

In her nomination statement, present REC Board Chairman Darlene Carpenter wrote, “I joined the REC board just a few years after our Cooperative was formed through the consolidation of two small, very rural cooperatives. I know it took tremendous leadership and courage for those boards to recommend a consolidation. Bill successfully guided REC through the transition to a right-sized board.” Carpenter continued, “Nearly 30 years later, Bill’s leadership was demonstrated when REC joined with Shenandoah Valley Electric Cooperative to acquire the Virginia service territory of Allegheny Power. Bill again helped guide REC’s board as it grew to provide representation to its new members.”

REC president and CEO Kent D. Farmer said, “Bill has served REC’s members well. His leadership through the decades helped the Cooperative become what it is today. He makes sure the best interest of REC’s members is at the core of every decision he and his fellow Board members make. It’s an honor to work with Bill.”

In presenting Alphin with his award, VMDAEC president and CEO Jack Reasor said, “I cannot think of a single individual who has donated so much of their life to promoting, supporting and nurturing electric cooperatives in our three-state area than Bill.”

Alphin has also served as a member and chairman of the VMDAEC board. “Bill was always a tremendous supporter of the Association’s board and committee structure, prepared to make tough decisions and always looking out for the best interests of the man and woman at the end of the line,” VMDAEC Executive Vice President Richard Johnstone.

The 2015 Distinguished Service Award resolution cites years of Alphin’s civic and philanthropic contributions to his community, including serving as president of his local Ruritan club, as a director and vice-chairman for Culpeper Memorial Hospital and as a long-time deacon, treasurer and Sunday school teacher at his church.

Alphin was thrilled to receive the 2015 Electric Cooperative Leadership Service Award as part of a luncheon celebration that included surprise guests ─ many of his family members as well as friends from sister electric cooperatives.

About REC

REC provides electric service to over 160,000 connections in parts of 22 Virginia counties. With its general office in Fredericksburg, the Cooperative operates and maintains more than 16,000 miles of power lines through its service area, which ranges from the Blue Ridge Mountains to the tidal waters of the Chesapeake Bay. Follow REC on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.


Founded in 1944, VMDAEC is the trade association for 15 consumer-owned not-for-profit electric distribution cooperatives that serve Delaware, Maryland and Virginia.  The Glen Allen, Va.-based Association provides its member cooperatives with employee, director, and safety education and training, government relations and legislative support, and communications services, including the publishing of Cooperative Living magazine.  For more information, visit or

Back to the newsroom

Bill Alphin

Bill Alphin (center), founding board member of REC, was presented the Electric Cooperative Leadership Award during a July 27 ceremony at the Hotel Roanoke that included many family members and co-op friends. With him are Kent Farmer, president and CEO of Rappahannock Electric Cooperative (at left) and Jack Reasor, president and CEO of the Virginia, Maryland and Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives (at right).